Bathurst Sports Hall Of Fame

Inductees for year 1999

Kenneth "Ken" Frenette

After retiring as a gifted hockey and baseball player, Ken Frenette devoted the next 25 years to the youth of Bathurst as a coach in the minor baseball and hockey programs. He started and developed the Bathurst pre-season hockey school and was one of the founders of the Bathurst Sports Hall Of Fame. As a member of city council, Frenette was instrumental in the upgrading of Coronation Park and the installation of lights for baseball and softball. He was also mayor at the time it was announced Bathurst would be getting a new Civic Center. It was Frenette's dedication to his teams that made him stand out. He never missed a game or practice in more than 20 years of coaching in the Bathurst Minor Hockey System.

Charles"Charlie" Leblanc

The trophy cases at both the former J. Gordon Chalmers Junior High School and Bathurst High are crammed with trophies from teams coached by Charlie Leblanc. Described as a builder of character, self-esteem and spirit, Leblanc produces winners without stressing winning. Although he excelled as a volleyball coach, he also coached soccer, basketball and badminton teams at both the school and club level. Many of the more than 100 boys’ and girls' teams he has coached have brought home regional, provincial and maritime titles. In a coaching career that began when he was just 11 years old, Leblanc has distinguished himself as a gifted teacher and a positive role model to hundreds of Bathurst's young athletes, many of whom have gone on to represent the City at Jeux d'Acadie, Canada Games and at the University Level. 

Bathurst Amateur Boxing Club 1967-1976

Category: Team

Led by the Chiasson brothers, the Bathurst Amateur Boxing Club brought honor and recognition to the city along with many championships. Gilbert, Cletus and Bill Chiasson are the only brothers ever to each win a Maritime championship in the same tournament. The other members of the club, Edward (Eddie) Duguay and Fidelin Godin, also won championships in their respective weight classes in the same tournament. The list of titles won by the five fighters is a long one including several provincials, Maritime and Eastern Canadian Championships. All five athletes also competed in the city's minor hockey and baseball programs.  

City of Bathurst Services

Top

Temple De La Renommée Sportive De Bathurst

Intronisés pour l'année 1999

Kenneth "Ken" Frenette

Après avoir pris sa retraite de talentueux joueur de hockey et de base-ball, Ken Frenette dévoue les 25 années suivantes à la jeunesse comme instructeur dans les programmes de formation de base-ball et de hockey mineur. Il a ouvert et développé l'école de hockey présaison de Bathurst et a été un des fondateurs du Temple de la renommée des sports de Bathurst. Comme conseiller municipal, Frenette joue un rôle décisif dans l'amélioration de parc Coronation et de l'installation des lumières pour le base-ball et la balle molle. Il siégé aussi comme maire lorsque Bathurst annonce la construction future d'un nouveau centre civique. C'est son dévouement envers ses équipes qui le caractérise. Il n'a jamais manqué une partie ou une pratique en plus de vingt ans comme instructeur dans l'organisation du hockey mineur de Bathurst.

Charles"Charlie" Leblanc

Les armoires à trophées de l'ancien J. Gordon Chalmers Junior High School et du Bathurst High sont bourrés de trophées d'équipes qui ont été dirigées instructeur Charlie Leblanc. Décrit comme un meneur qui forme le caractère, l'amour-propre, et l'esprit d'équipe; Leblanc produit des gagnants sans insister sur la victoire. Bien qu'il excelle comme instructeur de volley- ball, il est aussi instructeur d'équipes de soccer, de basket-ball et de badminton au niveau scolaire et de clubs de différentes ligues. Plusieurs de plus de 100 équipes de garçons et de filles qu'il a dirigées, ont remporté des championnats régionaux, au provincial et à travers les maritimes. Au fil d'une carrière d'instructeur qu'il débute à l'âge de 11 ans. Leblanc se distingue comme un talentueux maître et sert d'exemple à des centaines de jeunes athlètes de Bathurst, plusieurs d'entre-deux en sont arrivés à représenter la Ville aux Jeux d'Acadie, au Jeux du Canada et au niveau universitaire.

Bathurst Amateur Boxing Club 1967-1976

Catégorie: Équipe

Mené par les frères Chiasson, le Club de boxe amateur de Bathurst a fait honneur à la Ville en recevant maintes considérations et en remportant plusieurs championnats. Gilbert, Cletus et Bill Chiasson sont les seuls frères à avoir gagné individuellement un championnat des maritimes dans le même tournoi. Les autres membres du Club, Eddie Duguay et Fidelin Godin, ont aussi remporté des championnats dans leur classe de poids respectif lors du même tournoi. La liste de titres remportés par les cinq pugilistes est longue incluant plusieurs championnats provinciaux, des maritimes et de l'Est du Canada. Ces cinq athlètes ont aussi concurrencé dans les programmes municipaux de hockey mineur et de base-ball.

Services de la Ville de Bathurst

Top