Bathurst Sports Hall Of Fame

Inductees for year 1998

Eldy McLean

Eldy Mclean With over 30 years logged as a coach and teacher Eldy McLean's name will always be associated with championship teams in Bathurst. From 1966-71 he coached a total of seven teams to provincial championships at Leblanc High School. Once Leblanc High School closed its doors in 1971 he continued his coaching at Bathurst High School where he would be at the helm for 2 more provincial championship teams. A demanding coach, he was involved with several sports and both boys and girls teams. Basketball, volleyball, soccer and badminton (teams all benefited from his dedicated efforts). A long time promoter of adult fitness and recreation programs in the city he also was instrumental in the development of cross-country skiing in the area. His total commitments, dedication and interest over the years have played an important part in the building and development of character, sportsmanship and leadership among the young people of Bathurst.

Pat Maher

Category: Player

Between 1970 and 1996 Pat Maher participated in a total of 7 national curling championships. Curling for such well-known names as Shirley Pilson, Karen McDermott and Anne Orser she has represented New Brunswick at 5 MacDonald Lassie/Scott Tournament of Hearts; as second stone in 1970,71 and 88; and third in 1976 and 79. She also represented New Brunswick as third stone at the Canadian Seniors in 1992 and 96. A strong shot maker she has been a fixture at the Bathurst Curling Club over the years where she has been an active supporter of junior curling and was instrumental in organizing a bridge club. She is also an active golfer and a mother of 5. Her dedication to her sport and community has made her an excellent ambassador for both the sport of curling and the City of Bathurst over the years.

Freddie Mackay

Category: Individual

Known as “The Lamplighter” for his ability to score often Freddie Mackay was a member of the Bathurst Papermakers hockey team from 1946-64 and also played for Bathurst High School. Besides winning the Most Valuable Player Award in the North Shore Hockey League and several league scoring titles he was also presented the league’s most sportsmanlike award on 6 occasions averaging less than 2 minutes of penalties per season. In 1959 he captured all three awards and had a remarkable 27 game scoring streak. He led the Papermakers to the Maritime Hockey title in 1948 and was captain of the 1956 Papermakers that won the Maritime Intermediate A Championships. He was also a member of the 1945/46 BHS team that won a Maritime Championship. Known for his accurate shot he even skated on a line with the legendary Jean Beliveau while on a tryout with the Quebec Citadels.

City of Bathurst Services

Top

Temple De La Renommée Sportive De Bathurst

Intronisés pour l'année 1998

Eldy McLean

Avec un carnet de bord de plus de 30 années d'expérience comme entraîneur et enseignant, le nom Eldy McLean sera toujours associé à des équipes championnes de Bathurst. De 1966 à 1971, il dirige et conduit sept équipes du Leblanc High School au championnat provincial. Après la fermeture du Leblanc High School en 1971, il continue en occupant le poste d'entraîneur au Bathurst High School où il sera à la barre de 2 autres équipes au championnat provincial. Entraîneur exigeant, il s'implique dans plusieurs disciplines sportives avec des équipes de garçons et de filles. Les équipes de basketball, volleyball, soccer et badminton profitent tous de ses efforts dévoués. Promoteur ardu de la forme physique adulte et des programmes de loisirs municipaux, il contribue au développement du ski de fond dans la région. Au fil des années, son dévouement et son intérêt ont joué un rôle important dans la croissance et au développement du caractère, de l'esprit sportif et des qualités de chef parmi les jeunes de Bathurst. 

Pat Maher

Catégorie: Joueur

Entre 1970 et 1996, Pat Maher participe à un total de 7 championnats nationaux de curling. Elle représente le Nouveau-Brunswick à 5 MacDonald Lassie/Scott Tournament of Hearts, comme deuxième pierre en 1970/71 et 1988 et comme troisième pierre en 1976 et 1979 en jouant au curling avec des noms très bien connus tels que Shirley Pilson, Karen McDermott et Anne Orser. Elle représente aussi le Nouveau-Brunswick comme troisième pierre au championnat canadien senior en 1992 et 1996. Une forte exécutrice de coups difficiles, elle est ancrée au Club de curling de Bathurst depuis plusieurs années où elle encourage activement le curling junior et contribue à la gestion d'un club de bridge. Elle est aussi une joueuse de golf active et mère de 5 enfants. Son dévouement, au fil des ans, envers son sport favori et la communauté la rend une excellente ambassadrice réciproquement pour le sport de curling et la ville de Bathurst.

Freddie Mackay

Catégorie: Individuel

Surnommé "L'éclaireur' pour son habileté de compter souvent, Freddie MacKay évolue au sein de l'équipe Papermakers de Bathurst de 1946, il joue aussi pour le Bathurst High School. En plus de recevoir la distinction honorifique du joueur le plus utile de la ligue de hockey de la côte Nord et plusieurs titres de buteur de la ligue, il se mérite le prix du meilleur esprit sportif de la ligue à 6 occasions avec une moyenne de moins de 2 minutes de pénalité par saison. En 1959, il capture les trois prix et connaît une veine exceptionnelle de 27 matches de suite à marquer des buts. Il conduit les Papermakers au championnat de hockey des Maritimes en 1948 et est capitaine de l'équipe des Papermakers de 1956 gagnante du championnat intermédiaire A des Maritimes. If fait aussi partie de l'équipe BHS 1945/46 qui remporte le championnat des Maritimes. Réputé pour son lancer précis, il a même chaussé les patins au côté du légendaire Jean Béliveau lors d'un essai avec les Citadelles de Québec.


Services de la Ville de Bathurst

Top