Bathurst Sports Hall Of Fame

Inductees for year 2014

Hector Fournier

From 1948-1974 Hector Fournier was a key ingredient to the success of first the Minor Hockey Program in East Bathurst and then the Bathurst Minor Hockey Program. Respected by all the young athletes he came in touch with, Hector did everything from providing hockey gear, to coaching, to becoming a successful manager of the 1971 Junior B Papermakers who won the right to represent New Brunswick in the Canada Winter Games in Saskatoon, SK. That year they also won the New Brunswick Junior B crown under his leadership

Donald Lavigne

Donald was a true professional in his role as a coach of various cross-country ski teams and his dedication to preparation and organization led to many great successes of both his athletes and teams. The highlights of Donald’s coaching career include being selected as the head Coach for the Canadian Cross-Country Ski Team for the 2013 Special Olympic Winter Games in South Korea and his selection as the National Special Olympic Male Coach of the Year in 2000. Thanks to Donald’s leadership, his athletes were able to have experiences of a lifetime and in addition to striving for excellence, they were able to demonstrate the best values of sport on a local, provincial, Canadian and global stage. 

Don MacLaggan

A teacher, an athlete, a coach, a mentor, a builder, a truly compassionate man for sports in Bathurst. As an athlete he was a leader, a fighter, an inspiration for every teammate as he was as captain with the Bathurst Mutuals who went on to win Bronze at the Nationals. As a coach of 100+ teams, from minor to junior to senior, he was the ultimate motivator, organizer and role model. His winning teams speak nothing to the many lives he touched, many youth he has encouraged to be the best they can be. In his role as President of Bathurst Minor Baseball, the quantity and quality of athletes grew immensely. He will always be remembered as a true “believer” in the athletes and people of Bathurst. 

City of Bathurst Services

Top

Temple De La Renommée Sportive De Bathurst

Intronisés pour l'année 2014

Hector Fournier

De 1948 à 1974, Hector Fournier était la force motrice des succès du premier programme de hockey mineur de Bathurst Est et, ensuite, du programme de hockey mineur de Bathurst. Respecté de tous les jeunes athlètes qu’il a côtoyés, Hector était l’homme orchestre qui fournissait l’équipement de hockey, agissait comme entraîneur et qui allait devenir en 1971 le brillant directeur des Papermakers Junior B qui ont eu le mérite de représenter le Nouveau-Brunswick aux Jeux d’hiver du Canada tenus à Saskatoon, SK. Cette même année, sous sa direction, les Papermakers Junior B s’étaient aussi mérité le trophée de leur catégorie au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Donald Lavigne

C’est avec professionnalisme que Donald approchait son rôle d’entraîneur auprès des nombreuses équipes de ski de fond pour lesquelles il s’est dévoué. Avec énergie, il a préparé et géré ses équipes qui ont connu d’immenses succès à la fois sur le plan collectif et individuel. On peut citer deux faits saillants qui ont marqué la carrière de Donald, soit sa sélection à titre d’entraîneur-chef de l’Équipe canadienne de ski de fond 2013 aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver spéciaux en Corée du Sud et sa nomination d’entraîneur masculin de l’année des Jeux olympiques spéciaux canadiens en 2000. Sous sa direction, ses athlètes ont vécu des expériences inoubliables. Dans leur quête d’excellence, ils ont contribué à démontrer les vertus du sport sur les scènes locale, provinciale, nationale et mondiale.

Don MacLaggan

Professeur, athlète, entraineur, mentor, bâtisseur, un homme de Bathurst complètement dédié aux sports. En tant qu’athlète, il était un leader, un fonceur et une inspiration pour ses coéquipiers alors qu’il était capitaine des Mutuals et qu’ils sont allés gagner la médaille de bronze au niveau national. Entraîneur dans les ligues junior, mineure et senior, il a forme plus de 100 équipes pour qui il était le motivateur de tous les instants, l’organisateur et le modèle à suivre. Toutes ses équipes gagnantes sont l’expression vivante de toutes ces vies qu’il a touchées, de tous ces jeunes qu’il a élevés au summum de leurs capacités. Sous sa gouverne, alors qu’il était président du baseball mineur de Bathurst, la quantité et la qualité des athlètes se sont accrues sans cesse. On se souviendra de lui comme une personne qui croyait vraiment à Bathurst, à se gens et à ses athlètes.

Services de la Ville de Bathurst

Top