Bathurst Sports Hall Of Fame

Inductees for year 2002

Gabriel "Gabe" Aube

After taking up cross-country skiing at his wife's insistence as a family activity, Gabriel Aube quickly fell in love with the sport. Gabe began competing in the sport in 1983 and quickly moved on to compete at the provincial, national and world-class level. He has placed in the top 10 on more than one occasion at World Championship events and has close to 30 medals, over half of those gold, at national events. Gabe, who continues to compete in his 60's, also dedicates much of his time to helping those, young and old, who are taking up the sport for the first time. This world-class athlete, who is an inspiration to the community, is now a member of the Bathurst Sports Hall Of Fame. 

Bernard "Bernie" White

Category: Builder

For over 30 years, the name Bernie White has been synonymous with Minor Hockey in Bathurst. Since taking over the job of coordinator in the early 70's, Bernie has been instrumental in helping thousands of local youngsters get a chance to play the game of hockey. A scheduling whiz he has spent untold hours making sure that youngsters were able to take advantage of every possible hour of ice time and always promote fair play. A provincial winning coach in both hockey and baseball, he was also a provincial curling champion. It is with the thanks of generations of young hockey players that Bernie White joins the Bathurst Sports Hall of Fame in the builder category.

Bathurst Junior « B » Papermakers

Category: Team

Lead by a pair of goals from Eric Hicks, the Bathurst Junior "B" Papermakers defeated the Oromocto Blues 6-1 to take the best of three New Brunswick Championship in two straight games. The 19 Junior Papermakers got by Dalhousie two games to one to advance to the final series, They also beat Dalhousie en route to advancing to the Canada Games in Saskatchewan that year. Eight members of the team made the trip to Saskatoon to represent the province. Goaltender Bobby Chamberlain, along with defensemen David Young. Brian Milton and Danny Fournier as well as forwards Eric Hicks, Brian Patterson, Guy Dupuis and Fred Frenette all wore New Brunswick's colors at the Winter Games.

City of Bathurst Services

Top

Temple De La Renommée Sportive De Bathurst

Intronisés pour l'année 2002

Gabriel "Gabe" Aube

Après avoir choisi le ski de fond comme activité familiale à la demande de son épouse, Gabriel Aube a eu le coup de foudre pour ce sport. Il a commencé à compétionner en 1983 et rapidement passé du niveau national, au niveau mondial. Il s'est classé dans les 10 meilleurs à plusieurs occasions dans des championnats mondiaux et il possède près de 30 médailles, dont la moitié en or, au niveau national. Gabriel Aube, maintenant dans la soixantaine, compétionne toujours. II aime aussi aider les jeunes et moins jeunes qui apprennent ce, sport pour la première fois. Cet athlète de classe mondiale est une inspiration pour la communauté et est maintenant un membre du Temple de la Renommée Sportive de Bathurst.

Bernard "Bernie" White

Catégorie: Fondateur

Depuis plus de 30 ans, Bernie White est synonyme de hockey mineur à Bathurst. Lorsqu’il a accepté le poste de coordinateur dans les années ’70, Bernie a su aider un grand nombre de jeunes à trouver leur place dans le hockey. Planificateur à son meilleur, il a passé d’innombrables heures à préparer des horaires afin de maximiser le temps des jeunes joueurs sur la glace et de leur apprendre à jouer de façon loyale. Il a gagné le mérite d’entraîneur provincial au hockey et au base-ball. Il était aussi un champion de curling au niveau provincial. C’est avec les remerciements de plusieurs générations de jeunes hockeyeurs que Bernie sera intronisé au Temple de la Renommée Sportive de Bathurst.


Bathurst Junior « B » Papermakers

Catégorie: Équipe

Avec les deux bus de Eric Hicks, les <Bathurst Junior "B" Papermakers> ont battu <Oromocto Blues> 6-1 pour se classer dans les trois meilleures équipes du championnat du Nouveau- Brunswick en deux jeux seulement. Les Junior Papermakers 1971 ont gagné deux parties sur trois contre l'équipe de Dalhousie et ont ainsi avancé dans les séries finales. De plus, ils ont battu Dalhousie et ont participé aux Jeux du Canada en Saskatchewan durant la même année. Huit membres de l'équipe se sont rendus à Saskatoon afin de représenter la province. Le gardien de but Bobby Chamberlain et les défenseurs: David Young, Brian Milton et Danny Fournier, ainsi que les ailiers Eric Hicks, Brian Patterson, Guy Dupuis et Fred Frenette ont fièrement porté les couleurs du Nouveau-Brunswick durant les Jeux d'hiver.  

Services de la Ville de Bathurst

Top