Bathurst Sports Hall Of Fame

Inductees for year 1995

Charles Boudreau

Category: Builder

Nicknamed Mr. Volleyball, Charles Boudreau was inducted into the Builder category of the Bathurst Sports Hall of Fame in 1995. Although based in Bathurst, Charles' name was synonymous with the sport of volleyball throughout the province. He served it as a player, coach, referee and clinician from 1953 to 1980. He became a national-level referee in 1968, and eight years later, he would fulfill a life-long dream by being asked to officiate at the 1976 Olympic Games in Montreal. Through most of his adult life, he was the top francophone volleyball instructor in the province, not to mention a founding member of Sport New Brunswick. During his youth, he spiked like no other; in his later years, he was respected like no other.

Clarence Bastarache

Category: Player

As a wheelchair athlete, Clarence Bastarache had no equal. Therefore, it was only right that his name stand in the Player category of the Bathurst Sports Hall of Fame, beginning in 1995. Clarence had an outstanding record of achievement as a wheelchair athlete at local, provincial, national and international levels, in both individual and team competitions. He was active for almost two decades, dating back to the early 1970s. In national competitions between 1971 and 1982, he won a total of 77 medals. He also held no less than six different national records during that period, in such varied sports as shot put, pentathlon, breaststroke, and javelin. Over a period of 11 years, beginning in 1972, he represented Canada at nine international competitions, where he won a total of 12 medals - one gold, seven silver and four bronze. Clarence was in a league of his own, both in sport and in sportsmanship.

BHS 1929-30 Hockey Team

Category: Team

The 1929-30 Bathurst High School hockey team entered the Bathurst Sports Hall of Fame's Team category in 1995, and there would be no one contesting this order. It would be extremely difficult to match the exploits of this team, and impossible to surpass them. They sailed through an entire 11 game schedule undefeated, allowing only 10 goals against while scoring 70. They ended the season in fairy tale fashion, beating St. Mary's Collegiate School the Nova Scotia champions and five-time Maritime title holders 4-0 to capture the Maritime High School Hockey Championship. No team could ever hope to be as dominant as that hockey team was. They were the class of their era, not just in athletic prowess, but in true sportsmanship.

City of Bathurst Services

Top

Temple De La Renommée Sportive De Bathurst

Intronisés pour l'année 1995

Charles Boudreau

Catégorie: Fondateur

Surnommé Mr Volley-ball, Charles Boudreau a été admis au Temple de la renommée Sportive de Bathurst en 1995, dans la catégorie des fondateurs. Bien que Charles soit de Bathurst, son nom été associé au volleyball autour toute la province. II a été joueur, entraineur, arbitre et clinicien de 1953-1980. II est devenu arbitre de niveau national en 1968, et huit ans plus tard i1 réalisant un rêve de toujours lorsqu'on lui a demandé d'agir comme officiel aux jeux olympiques de 1976 à Montréal. Tout au long de la majeure partie de sa vie adulte, i1 a été le meilleur instructeur francophone en volley-ball dans la province‘, en plus d'être un membre fondateur de Sport Nouveau—Brunswick. Pendant sa jeunesse, il lançait comme personne d'autre: plus tard, il était respecté comme personne d'autre.

Clarence Bastarache

Catégorie: Joueur

Comme athlète en fauteuil roulant, Clarence n‘avait pas son pareil. Il était juste que son nom apparaisse dans la catégorie des joueurs du Temple de la renommée Sportive de Bathurst à partir de 1995. Clarence possède une fiche impressionnante comme athlète en fauteuil roulant à l'échelle locale, provinciale, nationale et internationale, dans des compétitions individuelles et en équipe. I1 a été actif pendant presque deux décennies a partir du début des années 1970. Dans les compétitions nationales entre 1971 et 1982, i1 a remporté un total de 77 médailles. I1 a également atteint pas moins de six différents records nationaux pendant cette période, dans divers sports comme le lancer du poids, le pentathlon, la brasse et le lancer du javelot. Au cours d'une période de 11 ans, à partir de 1972, il a représenté le Canada a neuf compétitions internationales, ou il a remporté un total de 12 médailles - une médaille d'or, sept médailles d'argent et quatre médailles de bronze. Clarence est dans une classe à part, autant au point de vue du sport que de l'esprit sportif.

BHS 1929-30 Hockey Team

Catégorie: Équipe

L'équipe de hockey BHS 1929-30 est entrée au Temple de la renommée sportive en 1995, dans la exploits de cette équipe, et il serait impossible de les surpasser. Is ont joué 11 parties sans défaite permettant seulement 10 buts alors qu'ils en comptaient 70. Ils ont terminé la saison de façon magistrale, en remportant la victoire 4 - 0 contre St. Mary's Collegiate School - les champions de la Nouvelle-Ecosse, qui avaient remporté le titre à cinq reprises pour remporter le championnat de hockey des écoles secondaires des Maritimes. Aucune équipe ne pourrait espérer dominer comme cette équipe de hockey. C'était la meilleure équipe de l’époque, non seulement en ce qui a trait à ses prouesses athlétiques, mais aussi par son esprit d'équipe.

Services de la Ville de Bathurst

Top