Tourism Accommodation Levy

Tourism Accommodation Levy

INTRODUCTION

What is a Tourism Accommodation Levy?

A Tourism Accommodation Levy provides a sustainable source of funding for the marketing and promotion of the tourism sector. The Tourism Accommodation Levy is set at 3.5%, to be added on the purchase price of tourism accommodations in the City of Bathurst.

By –law 2019-07, Tourism Accommodation Levy By-law was passed in the City of Bathurst on December 16th, 2019 and collection of the levy was enacted on January 1st 2020.

REGISTRATION AND REPORTING

The operator of any property containing 6 or more rental rooms within the City of Bathurst, and that rents for less than 31 days is required to remit under the Tourism Accommodation Levy By-law. Any applicable operator must register with the City of Bathurst. An operator requires a Registration Identification Number for each individual place of business. All registrations must be submitted online.

A Tourism Accommodation Levy (TAL) Remittance Report must be submitted monthly showing the amount of Levy charged or collected and the amount of levy being remitted. The reports by operators shall be submitted to the City by the 20th day of the month following the collection of the levy by the operator.

SECTION RESERVED FOR ACCOMMODATIONS OPERATORS


REGISTRATION
The "Property Registrant Form" is to register your Accommodations business. Click the link below to access the form:

REMITTANCE

Payments must be made to the City of Bathurst

Remittance of the Tourism Accommodation Levy will be reported on the T.A.L. Remittance Report showing:

  • The amount of levy imposed on the purchase
  • The amount of levy being remitted.

The T.A.L. Remittance Report is due to the City by the 20th day of the month following the collection of the levy. The levy shall be remitted no later than 30 days from the date the report is due. A TAL Remittance Report must be completed and filed even if no funds have been collected during the period.


FILING A T.A.L. REMITTANCE REPORT

All remittance report must be filed online and cheques can be sent to the city of Bathurst at:
City of Bathurst
150 St. George Street
Bathurst, NB
E2A 1B5

Click the link below to access the form:



Top

Taxe sur l’hébergement touristique

Taxe sur l’hébergement touristique

INTRODUCTION

Qu’est-ce que la taxe sur l’hébergement touristique?


La taxe sur l’hébergement touristique constitue une source de financement durable pour la commercialisation et la promotion du secteur touristique. Cette taxe de 3.5% viendra s’ajouter au prix de l’hébergement touristique sur le territoire de la Ville de Bathurst.

La Ville de Bathurst a adopté, le 16 décembre 2019, l’Arrêté sur la taxe sur l’hébergement touristique n° 2019-07. La mise en vigueur de cette taxe était le 1er janvier 2020.

ENREGISTREMENT ET DÉCLARATION

L’exploitant de tout établissement de cinq chambres ou plus à louer pour une durée de moins de 31 jours sur le territoire de la Ville de Bathurst doit verser cette taxe en vertu de l’Arrêté sur la taxe sur l’hébergement touristique. Tous les exploitants visés doivent s’inscrire auprès de la Ville de Bathurst. L’exploitant doit se faire attribuer un numéro d’inscription pour chaque établissement commercial. Toutes demandes d’inscription doivent être soumises en ligne.

Le Rapport de versement de la taxe sur l’hébergement touristique (THT) doit être soumis chaque mois et indiquer le montant de la taxe comptée ou perçue et le montant de la taxe versée. L’exploitant doit déposer ce rapport en ligne au plus tard le 20 du mois suivant celui pour lequel il perçoit cette taxe.

SECTION RÉSERVÉE POUR OPÉRATEURS D'HÉBERGEMENT

INSCRIPTION
Le "Formulaire d’inscription des exploitants" est afin d'inscrire votre entreprise d'hébergement dans notre registre. Cliquez le lien ici-bas pour accéder le formulaire:

VERSEMENT
Les versements de la taxe doivent être rendus à la Ville de Bathurst.
La taxe sur l’hébergement touristique à verser à la Ville est déclarée dans le Rapport de versement de la THT, qui doit indiquer:
  • le montant de la taxe prélevée sur la location des chambres; 
  • le montant de la taxe versée.

L’exploitant doit déposer ce rapport auprès de la Ville au plus tard le 20 du mois suivant celui pour lequel il perçoit cette taxe. La taxe doit être versée au plus tard dans les 30 jours de la date d’échéance du rapport. Le Rapport sur le versement de la THT doit être rempli et déposé même si l’exploitant n’a pas perçu de taxe dans la période visée.


DÉPÔT DU RAPPORT SUR LE VERSEMENT DE LA THT

Tous les rapports doivent être remplis en ligne et les chèques envoyés à :
Ville de Bathurst
150 rue St. George
Bathurst, NB
E2A 1B5

Cliquez le lien ici-bas pour accéder le formulaire:

Informations connexes


Top