Mayor's Message

Mayor's Message

Welcome to the City of Bathurst.


We respectfully acknowledge the City of Bathurst as the ancestral homeland of the Mi’kmaq. Today, these lands are home to a diverse population of indigenous and other peoples. We also acknowledge with respect the diverse histories and cultures of the Mi’kmaq in this region.


Bathurst, a multicultural City, is a natural place to do business and is a transportation hub, located on the shores of one of the most beautiful bays in the world. The City continues to show its dedication to welcoming businesses of all sizes to share in the growth of the region. Since 2016, over 30 new businesses or franchises have established in the community, demonstrating strong economic confidence in our city and region.


In summer and winter, as well as seasons in between, we pride ourselves in offering many activity options for visitors. Whether it be relaxing at Youghall Beach – a crown jewel of New Brunswick’s beaches - on a beautiful summer afternoon, enjoying our wintery white gold while snowmobiling, ATV’ing or cross-country skiing, you will certainly find something to your taste. How about hiking or biking on our trails, including the Nepisiguit Mi’gmaq Trail, one of New Brunswick’s Signature trails? Maybe boating or kayaking? Who could pass on an opportunity to enjoy a delicious seafood feast direct from the Chaleur Bay? This and more!


Along with our municipal and community partners, we look forward to welcoming you to City and region, a choice destination to live, work and play!


Paolo Fongemie

Mayor of the City of Bathurst


Top

Mot du Maire

Mot du Maire

Bienvenue à la Ville de Bathurst.


Nous reconnaissons avec respect l’emplacement de la Ville de Bathurst en tant que terre ancestrale du peuple Mi’kmaq.  Aujourd’hui, ces terres sont hôte d’une population diverse, comprenant personnes natives du territoire et autres patries. Nous reconnaissons aussi avec respect l’histoire et les diverses cultures du peuple Mi’kmaq de la région.


Une ville multiculturelle située sur l’une des plus belles baies du monde, Bathurst est un endroit naturel pour faire des affaires et être une plaque tournante du transport de la région. La Ville de Bathurst continue de démontrer son engagement à inviter les entreprises de toutes tailles à participer à la croissance de la région. Depuis 2016, plus de 30 nouvelles entreprises ou franchises se sont établies dans la communauté, démontrant une forte confiance économique au sein de la ville et de la région.


En été comme en hiver, incluant les entre-saisons, nous sommes fiers d’offrir plusieurs options d’activités pour nos visiteurs. Que ce soit une belle après-midi de relaxation à la plage Youghall – un joyau au Nouveau-Brunswick, ou de belles randonnées hivernales en motoneige, VTT ou ski de fond, vous trouverez certainement une activité à votre goût. Pourquoi pas une excursion à pied ou bicycle sur un de nos sentiers, dont le sentier Nepisiguit Mi’gmaq, un des sentiers Prestige du Nouveau-Brunswick? Peut-être une randonnée en bateau ou kayak? Et qui pourrait se passer d’une dégustation d’un mets de fruits de mer en provenance de la Baie-des-Chaleurs? Ceci et beaucoup plus!


En collaboration avec nos partenaires municipaux et communautaires, nous avons hâte de vous accueillir au sein de notre ville et notre région, une destination de choix pour vivre, travailler et s’amuser!


Paolo Fongemie
le maire de la Ville de Bathurst


Top